25 Things About Me (That Have Nothing To Do With Birth)

I thought it would be fun to share some things about myself that only a few people know. I’m a big believer in connecting with the families I serve. However, most conversations with my clients have little to do with me, and everything to do with them and ways I can meet their needs! I absolutely love learning about their interests, so I thought I would share a few of my own. If you’re curious, read on!

  1. I love homemade herbal tea blends. My kitchen is lined with jars of dried herbs just waiting to be made into tea.12615699_10153971374443953_841966673074128496_o
  2. I have two black cats, whom I treat like children.
  3. Nature is my true home.
  4. My daughter looks absolutely nothing like me, but she’s got my spunky attitude.
  5. I like to hula hoop. I’ve won contests.
  6. Journaling is my preferred form of therapy.
  7. I LOVE to read and learn. Most of what I know has been learned from books.
  8. I suffered from postpartum depression for over a year and a half.
  9. Throughout my life, I’ve wanted to be a teacher, psychologist, healer (how vague is that?), a nature photographer, farmer, and a midwife.
  10. I still want to be a midwife (someday).12080097_10153753101213953_6144468468327987011_o
  11. This is one of the few pictures I have of my partner and I together. Neither of us are picture people!
  12. He and I bond over competitive card games, dancing with no shoes, and watching space documentaries and ridiculous TV dramas.
  13. We chose the perfect name for our daughter–Wren, a feisty songbird.
  14. I like to read Tarot cards for myself and my friends.
  15. I exclusively pumped for over a year. It was the hardest thing ever, but I’m proud of it.398019_10150508943243953_431045815_n
  16. I’m still very close with my two best childhood friends.
  17. I read birthing books for pleasure. They compose a good 1/3 of my personal library and most were acquired before I ever began formal training.
  18. If I could have any animal as a pet, I would choose two: a cow and an elephant.
  19. I think placentas are incredibly cool.
  20. I would love to meet Neil deGrasse Tyson, but I would have the worst case of starstruck ever. So maybe I don’t want to meet him.
  21. I can recite “Annabelle Lee,” “Ulalume,” and “The Raven,” by Edgar Allan Poe from memory.
  22. I love to cook but I’m not very creative, so usually my partner makes dinner. But I do make an amazing grilled cheese sandwich.
  23. I can’t wink. I still try though.
  24. The only game show I’d consider going on is Wheel of Fortune. I’m oddly talented at word puzzles.
  25. I’m afraid to create a Pinterest account. I’ve heard too many horror stories of addiction and prefer to come up with crazy ideas on my own.
10348694_10152374241748953_5186444736894757644_o
Bonus #26: I absolutely love newborns. If I could, I would have a dozen babies. Seriously.

 

4 thoughts on “25 Things About Me (That Have Nothing To Do With Birth)

  1. I still have my little recycled mason jar labelled “Aromatics” in your clear hand and filled with delightful-smelling dried herbs on my jewelry stand. Whenever I miss my Alaina, I just open it up and take a whiff. Best way to celebrate my Alaina-time ๐Ÿ™‚ Besties across country are STILL besties!

    Like

Leave a Reply

